East Australia

User: Bicycle4earth
Dates: 20 May 2014 - 31 Aug 2014
Duration: 3 months, 1 week

Sunday 31 Aug 2014 17:51

Journey's end. Namaste and thanks for following along!!!

Posted: Aug. 31, 2014, 7:51 a.m.

Sunday 31 Aug 2014 15:39

The Leichhardt Tree, Taroom

Posted: Aug. 31, 2014, 5:39 a.m.

Sunday 31 Aug 2014 15:20

Almost there!

Posted: Aug. 31, 2014, 5:20 a.m.

Saturday 30 Aug 2014 11:46

Some kind of desert up here- cactus in the rain gutter

Posted: Aug. 30, 2014, 1:46 a.m.

Friday 29 Aug 2014 16:16

The sun is getting dangerous again - welcome back to Queensland!

Posted: Aug. 29, 2014, 6:16 a.m.

Thursday 28 Aug 2014 14:13

One last home stretch to go

Posted: Aug. 28, 2014, 4:13 a.m.

Wednesday 27 Aug 2014 11:09

Aah, jaffles.

Posted: Aug. 27, 2014, 1:09 a.m.

Tuesday 26 Aug 2014 15:17

Looks like Queensland is gonna get some rain

Posted: Aug. 26, 2014, 5:17 a.m.

Sunday 24 Aug 2014 18:27

Not a bad lookin area for a campsite!

Posted: Aug. 24, 2014, 8:27 a.m.

Sunday 24 Aug 2014 16:26

Rain rain rain my phone is safe where it's dry

Posted: Aug. 24, 2014, 6:26 a.m.

Sunday 24 Aug 2014 16:23

The firewood is pretty good after a bush fire... Too bad it's raining!!

Posted: Aug. 24, 2014, 6:23 a.m.

Thursday 21 Aug 2014 16:59

This property is for sale; I think I'll take it! At least for tonight

Posted: Aug. 21, 2014, 6:59 a.m.

Wednesday 20 Aug 2014 16:17

Finally off the A road

Posted: Aug. 20, 2014, 6:17 a.m.

Wednesday 20 Aug 2014 7:28

Camping by the creek

Posted: Aug. 19, 2014, 9:28 p.m.

Monday 18 Aug 2014 11:47

Heading up the Pacific Highway. Lots of traffic but the shoulder is wide

Posted: Aug. 18, 2014, 1:47 a.m.

Saturday 16 Aug 2014 14:30

Myall National Park

Posted: Aug. 16, 2014, 4:30 a.m.

Friday 15 Aug 2014 15:07

Same name as some king I guess

Posted: Aug. 15, 2014, 5:07 a.m.

Wednesday 13 Aug 2014 17:25

View from my ridge top campsite

Posted: Aug. 13, 2014, 7:25 a.m.

Wednesday 13 Aug 2014 12:51

Leaving Alliance, my home for the last two weeks

Posted: Aug. 13, 2014, 2:51 a.m.

Monday 28 Jul 2014 14:44

Finally back with Jess & Duncan! This time Alliance is in the Pittwater. Looking forward to a good bit of time off so I'll keep tracking when I set out for Queensland.

Posted: July 28, 2014, 4:44 a.m.

Monday 28 Jul 2014 11:53

Sydney Harbour Bridge. It's been a great day so far!

Posted: July 28, 2014, 1:53 a.m.

Sunday 27 Jul 2014 14:40

Leisure Coast of a Sunday

Posted: July 27, 2014, 4:40 a.m.

Saturday 26 Jul 2014 16:21

Steady on towards Sydney...

Posted: July 26, 2014, 6:21 a.m.

Saturday 26 Jul 2014 9:04

Nerriga

Posted: July 25, 2014, 11:04 p.m.

Friday 25 Jul 2014 14:42

Aah the quiet of the back road...

Posted: July 25, 2014, 4:42 a.m.

Friday 25 Jul 2014 8:45

Outside Canberra, on my way to Sydney!

Posted: July 24, 2014, 10:45 p.m.

Tuesday 22 Jul 2014 15:58

Canberra Parliament House

Posted: July 22, 2014, 5:58 a.m.

Tuesday 22 Jul 2014 11:02

This morning's improvisation. Only has to go 50 kms. Fingers crossed!

Posted: July 22, 2014, 1:02 a.m.

Monday 21 Jul 2014 16:46

The ruin that is my rear wheel.

Posted: July 21, 2014, 6:46 a.m.

Sunday 20 Jul 2014 13:10

Overlooking Lake Jindabyne

Posted: July 20, 2014, 3:10 a.m.

Saturday 19 Jul 2014 14:55

There's a sign here says "Siberia"

Posted: July 19, 2014, 4:55 a.m.

Saturday 19 Jul 2014 13:15

This is the Alps of Oz

Posted: July 19, 2014, 3:15 a.m.

Friday 18 Jul 2014 14:18

Woah. Alpine country.

Posted: July 18, 2014, 4:18 a.m.

Friday 18 Jul 2014 12:48

Midway up the first ascent: first snow

Posted: July 18, 2014, 2:48 a.m.

Friday 18 Jul 2014 9:56

Leaving The Poets Paradise outside Corryong. A good dry night inside before the big Alpine leg!

Posted: July 17, 2014, 11:56 p.m.

Thursday 17 Jul 2014 13:35

At least it stopped raining.

Posted: July 17, 2014, 3:35 a.m.

Wednesday 16 Jul 2014 13:00

Second flood I've crossed today!

Posted: July 16, 2014, 3 a.m.

Tuesday 15 Jul 2014 15:09

I've lost touch with my feet.... Thankfully they know what to do

Posted: July 15, 2014, 5:09 a.m.

Monday 14 Jul 2014 14:04

Lake Buffalo

Posted: July 14, 2014, 4:04 a.m.

Sunday 13 Jul 2014 14:24

Powers Lookout over the King River valley

Posted: July 13, 2014, 4:24 a.m.

Saturday 12 Jul 2014 13:45

Skyline road around Lake Eildon

Posted: July 12, 2014, 3:45 a.m.

Friday 11 Jul 2014 14:18

Rainy day over Lake Eildon

Posted: July 11, 2014, 4:18 a.m.

Thursday 10 Jul 2014 14:53

Pretty damn wet out here

Posted: July 10, 2014, 4:53 a.m.

Wednesday 9 Jul 2014 12:03

My first night on the road to Sydney. Amazingly I found my way to a BMX park in the woods and chilled with bike dudes all evening! Magic!

Posted: July 9, 2014, 2:03 a.m.

Tuesday 1 Jul 2014 23:40

Chillin in Melbourne for a bit

Posted: July 1, 2014, 1:40 p.m.

Wednesday 25 Jun 2014 7:04

Back in Melbourne

Posted: June 24, 2014, 9:04 p.m.

Tuesday 24 Jun 2014 16:43

The Tasmanian loop is complete. Back to where I started... I recognize things, how weird!!

Posted: June 24, 2014, 6:43 a.m.

Monday 23 Jun 2014 15:51

Tucked up this rainy day at : the local yacht club! It's a shed. But it's dry!

Posted: June 23, 2014, 5:51 a.m.

Sunday 22 Jun 2014 15:35

Still plenty of timber being cut in Tasmania

Posted: June 22, 2014, 5:35 a.m.

Saturday 21 Jun 2014 16:26

A guy's gotta camp somewhere! Why do the sheep always get the best spots?

Posted: June 21, 2014, 6:26 a.m.

Friday 20 Jun 2014 14:02

Gravel road once again

Posted: June 20, 2014, 4:02 a.m.

Thursday 19 Jun 2014 15:37

Taking a day off in a beautiful (&secluded!) pine forest. I hope that my water lasts!

Posted: June 19, 2014, 5:37 a.m.

Wednesday 18 Jun 2014 13:45

Beach country

Posted: June 18, 2014, 3:45 a.m.

Tuesday 17 Jun 2014 12:02

Hiked up to the Wineglass Bay lookout

Posted: June 17, 2014, 2:02 a.m.

Tuesday 17 Jun 2014 7:29

Troll camping

Posted: June 16, 2014, 9:29 p.m.

Monday 16 Jun 2014 13:11

Back on the sea side, this time on the East coast

Posted: June 16, 2014, 3:11 a.m.

Sunday 15 Jun 2014 14:49

Been lucky with the rain so far...

Posted: June 15, 2014, 4:49 a.m.

Saturday 14 Jun 2014 14:58

The historic town of Richmond, and Australia's oldest bridge

Posted: June 14, 2014, 4:58 a.m.

Saturday 14 Jun 2014 10:48

Visiting MONA, the Museum of Old and New Art, in Hobart. A weird but rich place, built into a cliff like a James Bond villain fortress. Now heading North!!!

Posted: June 14, 2014, 12:48 a.m.

Thursday 12 Jun 2014 11:56

Probably the farthest south I'll ever get in this world...

Posted: June 12, 2014, 1:56 a.m.

Thursday 12 Jun 2014 10:26

Leaving Jess & Peter's place near Cygnet

Posted: June 12, 2014, 12:26 a.m.

Tuesday 10 Jun 2014 11:21

The mist is finally lifting as I cross the river in Huonville

Posted: June 10, 2014, 1:21 a.m.

Tuesday 10 Jun 2014 8:23

Saying goodbye to Gill & Jesse

Posted: June 9, 2014, 10:23 p.m.

Monday 9 Jun 2014 8:17

Dawn over the valley

Posted: June 8, 2014, 10:17 p.m.

Saturday 7 Jun 2014 15:37

In Dover helping Matt, Gill, & Jess finish their shed construction

Posted: June 7, 2014, 5:37 a.m.

Friday 6 Jun 2014 13:07

Posted: June 6, 2014, 3:07 a.m.

Thursday 5 Jun 2014 16:38

Admiring the Huon River, almost to Franklin

Posted: June 5, 2014, 6:38 a.m.

Thursday 5 Jun 2014 12:18

Taking the short & dirty to Huonville: Jeffery's 4x4 Track

Posted: June 5, 2014, 2:18 a.m.

Wednesday 4 Jun 2014 13:18

Just leaving Ellendale. What a charming valley village!

Posted: June 4, 2014, 3:18 a.m.

Tuesday 3 Jun 2014 14:01

Coming out of the highlands towards Hobart.

Posted: June 3, 2014, 4:01 a.m.

Monday 2 Jun 2014 12:15

Lake St. Clair, with one of them mountains I went over yesterday in the background. Now I am officially on the Eastern side of the island.

Posted: June 2, 2014, 2:15 a.m.

Sunday 1 Jun 2014 13:14

Nelson Falls

Posted: June 1, 2014, 3:14 a.m.

Sunday 1 Jun 2014 9:42

Making pizza jaffles for my pack lunch. Breakfast was an egg & cheese jaffle. It's worth the weight of the iron!

Posted: May 31, 2014, 11:42 p.m.

Saturday 31 May 2014 16:47

Atop the climb out of Queenstown - better hurry down and find camp!

Posted: May 31, 2014, 6:47 a.m.

Saturday 31 May 2014 11:25

Macquarie Harbor in Strahan

Posted: May 31, 2014, 1:25 a.m.

Saturday 31 May 2014 7:49

Respoking my rear wheel in luxury at the Strahan Backpackers. Thanks Disco Dave!

Posted: May 30, 2014, 9:49 p.m.

Friday 30 May 2014 8:51

Just outside of Zeehan

Posted: May 29, 2014, 10:51 p.m.

Wednesday 28 May 2014 14:59

Crossing the Pieman River at Corinna.

Posted: May 28, 2014, 4:59 a.m.

Tuesday 27 May 2014 12:45

Staying warm and dry. God I love camping!

Posted: May 27, 2014, 2:45 a.m.

Monday 26 May 2014 13:27

Wet but happy, crossing the Lindsay River

Posted: May 26, 2014, 3:27 a.m.

Sunday 25 May 2014 15:20

A warm family welcome. Now it's time to head into the wild western explorer trail... Might be a few days before the next update. GPS accuracy is off: I'm in Arthur's River, TAS.

Posted: May 25, 2014, 5:20 a.m.

Sunday 25 May 2014 10:03

Couldn't turn down the offer of a dry camper van to sleep in. Unfortunately, now I don't want to leave!

Posted: May 25, 2014, 12:03 a.m.

Friday 23 May 2014 15:00

Town of Stanley and this huge Rock.

Posted: May 23, 2014, 5 a.m.

Thursday 22 May 2014 15:44

Rain. Wind. Hills. All I see is beauty.

Posted: May 22, 2014, 5:44 a.m.

Wednesday 21 May 2014 12:35

Just got a nice taste of Tassie local flavor at the Penguin info center- and a nearby place to camp. Calling it nice n early on day one!

Posted: May 21, 2014, 2:35 a.m.

Tuesday 20 May 2014 17:21

Leaving "Crunchytown," my couchsurfing house in Melbourne, for the ferry to Tasmania

Posted: May 20, 2014, 7:21 a.m.

East Australia

User: Bicycle4earth
Dates: 20 May 2014 - 31 Aug 2014
Duration: 3 months, 1 week

Commenting is closed

Yay!!! Nice work! As usual a tour full of adventure, challenges and successes. Quite jealous i'm not there too! You better give a big all-mighty hug to my family from me! Love all round xxx Lily

Push those pedals! Great to talk to you and I think I will have to start a hundred day plan too...