The Big Bike Trip

User: imnickthomson
Dates: 16 Mar 2015 - 21 Apr 2017
Duration: 2 years, 1 month

Friday 21 Apr 2017 17:26

Shrine camping

Posted: April 21, 2017, 8:26 a.m.

Tuesday 18 Apr 2017 17:26

Posted: April 18, 2017, 8:26 a.m.

Monday 17 Apr 2017 17:18

Camping 200 meters away from the most visited site in Nara and ho how knows I'm here. Gotta love wild camping.

Posted: April 17, 2017, 8:18 a.m.

Sunday 16 Apr 2017 16:54

Posted: April 16, 2017, 7:54 a.m.

Saturday 15 Apr 2017 16:56

Posted: April 15, 2017, 7:56 a.m.

Thursday 13 Apr 2017 18:59

Japanese temples > Thai temples

Posted: April 13, 2017, 9:59 a.m.

Wednesday 15 Mar 2017 21:40

Posted: March 15, 2017, 2:40 p.m.

Tuesday 14 Mar 2017 18:15

And as usual, the first day on the saddle I overdid it. 120km. Boom!

Posted: March 14, 2017, 11:15 a.m.

Thursday 9 Mar 2017 20:15

Posted: March 9, 2017, 1:15 p.m.

Wednesday 8 Mar 2017 20:04

Posted: March 8, 2017, 1:04 p.m.

Tuesday 7 Mar 2017 18:30

Posted: March 7, 2017, 11:30 a.m.

Monday 6 Mar 2017 17:21

Posted: March 6, 2017, 10:21 a.m.

Sunday 5 Mar 2017 17:04

Posted: March 5, 2017, 10:04 a.m.

Saturday 4 Mar 2017 18:21

Posted: March 4, 2017, 11:21 a.m.

Thursday 2 Mar 2017 18:20

Posted: March 2, 2017, 11:20 a.m.

Wednesday 1 Mar 2017 15:17

Posted: March 1, 2017, 8:17 a.m.

Tuesday 28 Feb 2017 17:18

Back on the road!

Posted: Feb. 28, 2017, 10:18 a.m.

Monday 27 Feb 2017 18:18

Posted: Feb. 27, 2017, 11:18 a.m.

Thursday 16 Feb 2017 21:39

Posted: Feb. 16, 2017, 2:39 p.m.

Tuesday 7 Feb 2017 21:37

Posted: Feb. 7, 2017, 2:37 p.m.

Sunday 5 Feb 2017 20:35

Posted: Feb. 5, 2017, 1:35 p.m.

Saturday 4 Feb 2017 19:02

Posted: Feb. 4, 2017, 12:02 p.m.

Friday 3 Feb 2017 19:02

Posted: Feb. 3, 2017, 12:02 p.m.

Thursday 2 Feb 2017 15:56

Posted: Feb. 2, 2017, 8:56 a.m.

Wednesday 1 Feb 2017 19:12

Posted: Feb. 1, 2017, 12:12 p.m.

Sunday 29 Jan 2017 17:45

Posted: Jan. 29, 2017, 10:45 a.m.

Sunday 29 Jan 2017 9:41

Posted: Jan. 29, 2017, 2:41 a.m.

Tuesday 24 Jan 2017 18:40

Posted: Jan. 24, 2017, 11:40 a.m.

Wednesday 18 Jan 2017 22:44

Posted: Jan. 18, 2017, 3:44 p.m.

Tuesday 17 Jan 2017 20:44

Posted: Jan. 17, 2017, 1:44 p.m.

Monday 16 Jan 2017 8:58

Posted: Jan. 16, 2017, 1:58 a.m.

Saturday 14 Jan 2017 18:33

Posted: Jan. 14, 2017, 11:33 a.m.

Monday 9 Jan 2017 13:03

Chexit!!!

Posted: Jan. 9, 2017, 6:03 a.m.

Friday 6 Jan 2017 17:34

Posted: Jan. 6, 2017, 9:34 a.m.

Wednesday 4 Jan 2017 21:27

Posted: Jan. 4, 2017, 1:27 p.m.

Tuesday 3 Jan 2017 16:07

Washout

Posted: Jan. 3, 2017, 8:07 a.m.

Monday 2 Jan 2017 17:43

Posted: Jan. 2, 2017, 9:43 a.m.

Sunday 1 Jan 2017 18:03

Made it to the red river, which I will follow all the way to Vietnam. It's the beginning of the end for China

Posted: Jan. 1, 2017, 10:03 a.m.

Saturday 31 Dec 2016 20:13

Posted: Dec. 31, 2016, 12:13 p.m.

Friday 30 Dec 2016 18:35

Posted: Dec. 30, 2016, 10:35 a.m.

Thursday 29 Dec 2016 21:31

Posted: Dec. 29, 2016, 1:31 p.m.

Wednesday 28 Dec 2016 17:41

Nothing like a riverside construction site for a good night's sleep.

Posted: Dec. 28, 2016, 9:41 a.m.

Tuesday 27 Dec 2016 23:09

Posted: Dec. 27, 2016, 3:09 p.m.

Monday 26 Dec 2016 17:03

Posted: Dec. 26, 2016, 9:03 a.m.

Sunday 25 Dec 2016 17:00

BACK ON THE ROAD!!!!

Posted: Dec. 25, 2016, 9 a.m.

Monday 5 Dec 2016 18:23

Posted: Dec. 5, 2016, 11:23 a.m.

Sunday 4 Dec 2016 18:45

Last night in the tent and last pass before Shangri La done. Sleeping at the top once again due to shortening days

Posted: Dec. 4, 2016, 10:45 a.m.

Saturday 3 Dec 2016 17:02

Posted: Dec. 3, 2016, 9:02 a.m.

Tuesday 29 Nov 2016 9:54

Posted: Nov. 29, 2016, 1:54 a.m.

Monday 28 Nov 2016 16:33

A day written off by brutal winds, stupid gradients, and low blood sugar

Posted: Nov. 28, 2016, 8:33 a.m.

Sunday 27 Nov 2016 15:52

Climb hill or camp early...the view was the kicker

Posted: Nov. 27, 2016, 7:52 a.m.

Sunday 27 Nov 2016 8:50

Posted: Nov. 27, 2016, 12:50 a.m.

Wednesday 23 Nov 2016 16:52

At least it is shelter from the wind

Posted: Nov. 23, 2016, 8:52 a.m.

Monday 21 Nov 2016 16:38

So. Much. Oxygen.

Posted: Nov. 21, 2016, 8:38 a.m.

Sunday 20 Nov 2016 17:01

Posted: Nov. 20, 2016, 9:01 a.m.

Saturday 19 Nov 2016 16:42

Operation get over the pass and sleep at a sensible altitude failed. Still, found a nice hut to sleep in

Posted: Nov. 19, 2016, 8:42 a.m.

Saturday 19 Nov 2016 8:04

Here we go again

Posted: Nov. 19, 2016, 12:04 a.m.

Thursday 5 Nov 2015 13:44

Elsewhere.

Posted: Nov. 5, 2015, 5:44 a.m.

Monday 26 Oct 2015 15:37

Everything's different. A new alphabet. Military presence everywhere. Still can get a delicious plate of lagman, though.

Posted: Oct. 26, 2015, 7:37 a.m.

Friday 23 Oct 2015 19:52

Last night in Central Asia.

Posted: Oct. 23, 2015, 1:52 p.m.

Thursday 22 Oct 2015 17:26

You can tell the wind hanged direction.

Posted: Oct. 22, 2015, 11:26 a.m.

Wednesday 21 Oct 2015 16:23

It doesn't look much with all the old machinery, but with shelter from the wind, predicted rain, and inevitable morning dew, this is one of the more luxurious camp sites I've found.

Posted: Oct. 21, 2015, 10:23 a.m.

Tuesday 20 Oct 2015 17:05

Posted: Oct. 20, 2015, 11:05 a.m.

Saturday 17 Oct 2015 17:05

Nice view

Posted: Oct. 17, 2015, 11:05 a.m.

Friday 16 Oct 2015 17:45

Posted: Oct. 16, 2015, 11:45 a.m.

Thursday 15 Oct 2015 17:29

Back on the road and into autumn

Posted: Oct. 15, 2015, 11:29 a.m.

Sunday 27 Sep 2015 17:20

Aaaaaaand rest

Posted: Sept. 27, 2015, 11:20 a.m.

Saturday 26 Sep 2015 16:30

Basking in the heat now we're back down to sensible altitudes

Posted: Sept. 26, 2015, 10:30 a.m.

Friday 25 Sep 2015 18:13

You know you're getting close to the Kazakh steppe when the wind forces you to call it a day after just 3 hours of riding.

Posted: Sept. 25, 2015, 12:13 p.m.

Thursday 24 Sep 2015 15:57

All the mountain passes are done with. Only asphalt in front of us.

Posted: Sept. 24, 2015, 9:57 a.m.

Wednesday 23 Sep 2015 18:22

Posted: Sept. 23, 2015, 12:22 p.m.

Tuesday 22 Sep 2015 18:56

Hiding from the -10 degrees it falls to at night in this bad boy

Posted: Sept. 22, 2015, 12:56 p.m.

Monday 21 Sep 2015 17:57

Posted: Sept. 21, 2015, 11:57 a.m.

Sunday 20 Sep 2015 18:33

Another day, another mountain pass. That's 3 in a row now

Posted: Sept. 20, 2015, 12:33 p.m.

Saturday 19 Sep 2015 9:08

Pretty sure that snow wasn't there yesterday

Posted: Sept. 19, 2015, 3:08 a.m.

Friday 18 Sep 2015 19:01

Posted: Sept. 18, 2015, 1:01 p.m.

Thursday 17 Sep 2015 17:10

Another day cut short by an irresistible campsite. The 3000m pass will be tomorrow's problem.

Posted: Sept. 17, 2015, 11:10 a.m.

Wednesday 16 Sep 2015 19:01

Back off the asphalt and into the hinterland.

Posted: Sept. 16, 2015, 1:01 p.m.

Tuesday 15 Sep 2015 18:51

Posted: Sept. 15, 2015, 12:51 p.m.

Thursday 10 Sep 2015 16:30

Another rest day, another dicky tummy.

Posted: Sept. 10, 2015, 10:30 a.m.

Tuesday 8 Sep 2015 19:55

Finally down to altitudes suitable for my sleeping bag

Posted: Sept. 8, 2015, 1:55 p.m.

Friday 4 Sep 2015 13:40

You could say that this has been the high point of the trip

Posted: Sept. 4, 2015, 8:40 a.m.

Wednesday 2 Sep 2015 20:18

Posted: Sept. 2, 2015, 3:18 p.m.

Tuesday 1 Sep 2015 17:26

Another day cut short by an amazing camping spot

Posted: Sept. 1, 2015, 12:26 p.m.

Monday 31 Aug 2015 16:36

We found a hot spring. Naturally we weren't going to get back on our bikes today.

Posted: Aug. 31, 2015, 11:36 a.m.

Sunday 30 Aug 2015 19:07

Posted: Aug. 30, 2015, 2:07 p.m.

Saturday 29 Aug 2015 19:03

At long day pushing the bike through sand. But look.

Posted: Aug. 29, 2015, 2:03 p.m.

Friday 28 Aug 2015 17:39

Traditional Pamir style roof in the house we are sleeping in tonight.

Posted: Aug. 28, 2015, 12:39 p.m.

Wednesday 26 Aug 2015 19:58

Wakham valley. Where you can see 3 countries at once: Tajikistan, Afghanistan, and Pakistan.

Posted: Aug. 26, 2015, 2:58 p.m.

Tuesday 25 Aug 2015 18:25

Back on the road after the mandatory sickness in Khorugh.

Posted: Aug. 25, 2015, 1:25 p.m.

Sunday 23 Aug 2015 8:44

It's raining and I have a cold. It's like I'm back in Blighty

Posted: Aug. 23, 2015, 3:44 a.m.

Thursday 20 Aug 2015 16:37

But it's worth it for a campsite like this

Posted: Aug. 20, 2015, 11:37 a.m.

Wednesday 19 Aug 2015 20:12

Day eight: yup, very slow

Posted: Aug. 19, 2015, 3:12 p.m.

Tuesday 18 Aug 2015 17:59

Pamir: day six. Slow going on these bumpy roads

Posted: Aug. 18, 2015, 12:59 p.m.

Monday 17 Aug 2015 17:41

Pamir: day five. The other side of the river is Afghanistan

Posted: Aug. 17, 2015, 12:41 p.m.

Sunday 16 Aug 2015 19:00

Pamir: day four

Posted: Aug. 16, 2015, 2 p.m.

Saturday 15 Aug 2015 18:12

Pamir: day three

Posted: Aug. 15, 2015, 1:12 p.m.

Friday 14 Aug 2015 18:34

Pamir: day two

Posted: Aug. 14, 2015, 1:34 p.m.

Thursday 13 Aug 2015 17:03

Pamir: day one

Posted: Aug. 13, 2015, 12:03 p.m.

Tuesday 11 Aug 2015 9:52

Fattening myself up before hitting the Pamir Mountains. It's like the United Nations of cyclists at the hostel, one even has the same bike as me!

Posted: Aug. 11, 2015, 4:52 a.m.

Saturday 8 Aug 2015 21:13

Posted: Aug. 8, 2015, 4:13 p.m.

Friday 7 Aug 2015 20:31

Posted: Aug. 7, 2015, 3:31 p.m.

Monday 3 Aug 2015 14:49

More warm shades of blue covering the mosques and madrassas of Samarkand

Posted: Aug. 3, 2015, 9:49 a.m.

Sunday 19 Jul 2015 15:30

Khiva: the first jewel on the Silk Road

Posted: July 19, 2015, 10:30 a.m.

Thursday 16 Jul 2015 18:55

Posted: July 16, 2015, 1:55 p.m.

Wednesday 15 Jul 2015 18:44

Out of the desert!!

Posted: July 15, 2015, 1:44 p.m.

Sunday 12 Jul 2015 22:27

I forget which day it is...5 I think...whatever. Hotel.

Posted: July 12, 2015, 5:27 p.m.

Wednesday 8 Jul 2015 19:57

The desert. Day one

Posted: July 8, 2015, 2:57 p.m.

Tuesday 7 Jul 2015 16:33

And now for the desert

Posted: July 7, 2015, 11:33 a.m.

Wednesday 1 Jul 2015 3:22

The ferry waiting game begins

Posted: June 30, 2015, 10:22 p.m.

Friday 26 Jun 2015 19:11

Since I'm cycling the Silk Road, I guess it's only fitting to sleep in a caravanseri for the night.

Posted: June 26, 2015, 2:11 p.m.

Wednesday 24 Jun 2015 18:00

Reunited with an old friend

Posted: June 24, 2015, 1 p.m.

Tuesday 23 Jun 2015 20:43

Look where I get to spend the night!

Posted: June 23, 2015, 4:43 p.m.

Tuesday 16 Jun 2015 22:17

Rolling into Tblisi

Posted: June 16, 2015, 6:17 p.m.

Saturday 13 Jun 2015 20:55

Post-Soviet.

Posted: June 13, 2015, 4:55 p.m.

Thursday 11 Jun 2015 21:58

Below 1000m!!!!

Posted: June 11, 2015, 5:58 p.m.

Thursday 11 Jun 2015 7:42

Last night in Turkey spent under the hospitality of the Turkish police force.

Posted: June 11, 2015, 4:42 a.m.

Monday 8 Jun 2015 12:37

Sickness + Mountains = hitchhiking

Posted: June 8, 2015, 9:37 a.m.

Sunday 7 Jun 2015 17:59

Let future nick worry about reaching the pass.

Posted: June 7, 2015, 2:59 p.m.

Friday 5 Jun 2015 8:10

Well, I knew I'd have to get a bus eventually. Turkey is much bigger than I thought.

Posted: June 5, 2015, 5:10 a.m.

Friday 29 May 2015 19:47

Literally through hail and storm to get here today. Earned the view

Posted: May 29, 2015, 4:47 p.m.

Thursday 28 May 2015 19:26

In contrast to my previous post, here's my tent in the garden of a 4 star hotel

Posted: May 28, 2015, 4:26 p.m.

Wednesday 27 May 2015 18:31

It's not all glamour

Posted: May 27, 2015, 3:31 p.m.

Tuesday 26 May 2015 22:42

Posted: May 26, 2015, 7:42 p.m.

Monday 25 May 2015 18:53

Petrol stations are becoming my best friend in Turkey

Posted: May 25, 2015, 3:53 p.m.

Saturday 23 May 2015 20:10

Back on the road!

Posted: May 23, 2015, 5:10 p.m.

Friday 15 May 2015 14:55

Europe: done

Posted: May 15, 2015, 11:55 a.m.

Thursday 14 May 2015 19:27

With places to sleep like this, part of me doesn't want to enter Istanbul tomorrow

Posted: May 14, 2015, 4:27 p.m.

Wednesday 13 May 2015 17:42

Almost there!

Posted: May 13, 2015, 2:42 p.m.

Monday 11 May 2015 20:31

Posted: May 11, 2015, 5:31 p.m.

Sunday 10 May 2015 17:43

Posted: May 10, 2015, 2:43 p.m.

Saturday 9 May 2015 18:32

Many many amazing places to wild camp here in Bulgaria.

Posted: May 9, 2015, 3:32 p.m.

Saturday 9 May 2015 1:49

Further away from Istanbul than 2 days ago. And my god it was worth it.

Posted: May 8, 2015, 10:49 p.m.

Friday 8 May 2015 8:49

Posted: May 8, 2015, 5:49 a.m.

Monday 4 May 2015 17:35

Posted: May 4, 2015, 2:35 p.m.

Sunday 3 May 2015 17:09

Subtle campsite

Posted: May 3, 2015, 2:09 p.m.

Friday 1 May 2015 19:53

Posted: May 1, 2015, 4:53 p.m.

Friday 1 May 2015 7:54

Posted: May 1, 2015, 4:54 a.m.

Friday 24 Apr 2015 17:33

At €20, I just couldn't say no to a night out of the tent

Posted: April 24, 2015, 2:33 p.m.

Thursday 23 Apr 2015 14:42

Not a bad place to spend my last day in Hungary. Romania tomorrow!

Posted: April 23, 2015, 12:42 p.m.

Tuesday 21 Apr 2015 16:57

Posted: April 21, 2015, 2:57 p.m.

Friday 17 Apr 2015 17:57

Yup. Here already

Posted: April 17, 2015, 3:57 p.m.

Thursday 16 Apr 2015 18:33

Posted: April 16, 2015, 4:33 p.m.

Wednesday 15 Apr 2015 18:59

Posted: April 15, 2015, 4:59 p.m.

Tuesday 14 Apr 2015 15:32

Posted: April 14, 2015, 1:32 p.m.

Monday 13 Apr 2015 20:05

Posted: April 13, 2015, 6:05 p.m.

Sunday 12 Apr 2015 18:57

120k. Earned it.

Posted: April 12, 2015, 4:57 p.m.

Saturday 11 Apr 2015 19:42

The Danube got interesting

Posted: April 11, 2015, 5:42 p.m.

Thursday 9 Apr 2015 8:33

Posted: April 9, 2015, 6:33 a.m.

Monday 6 Apr 2015 21:30

Amazing hospitality on my first day of the Danube

Posted: April 6, 2015, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday 4 Apr 2015 17:50

A 3 day ride for this. Worth it

Posted: April 4, 2015, 3:50 p.m.

Friday 3 Apr 2015 18:49

Posted: April 3, 2015, 4:49 p.m.

Monday 30 Mar 2015 16:36

Makes a change from cobblestones and olde timey buildings

Posted: March 30, 2015, 2:36 p.m.

Sunday 29 Mar 2015 16:34

Yep, you can stay there for 20 euros

Posted: March 29, 2015, 2:34 p.m.

Friday 27 Mar 2015 17:20

The Rhine!!

Posted: March 27, 2015, 4:20 p.m.

Thursday 26 Mar 2015 17:22

A night in the Hurtgen forest

Posted: March 26, 2015, 4:22 p.m.

Wednesday 25 Mar 2015 20:12

Posted: March 25, 2015, 7:12 p.m.

Tuesday 24 Mar 2015 21:40

Another 'rest day' in the hometown of Stella (other beers are available)

Posted: March 24, 2015, 8:40 p.m.

Monday 23 Mar 2015 16:10

Posted: March 23, 2015, 3:10 p.m.

Sunday 22 Mar 2015 20:02

Posted: March 22, 2015, 7:02 p.m.

Saturday 21 Mar 2015 16:08

R&R

Posted: March 21, 2015, 3:08 p.m.

Tuesday 17 Mar 2015 17:32

A long day on bumpy/muddy sustrans routes. Next stop: Dover!

Posted: March 17, 2015, 5:32 p.m.

Monday 16 Mar 2015 20:16

Posted: March 16, 2015, 8:16 p.m.

Monday 16 Mar 2015 10:42

Keys left in the house and the door closed behind me. No turning back now!

Posted: March 16, 2015, 10:42 a.m.

The Big Bike Trip

User: imnickthomson
Dates: 16 Mar 2015 - 21 Apr 2017
Duration: 2 years, 1 month

Go on Nick! We still follow your blog and we hope its great!
Best wishes from your favourite beergarden in bavaria to the other side of the world. Stay save!
Matthias, Robert, Andy and Peter

Why are you going backwards Nick! China is the other way :)

Hope it's awesome

I can't believe you've been doing this 3 months already! Where are you going next? Stay safe. xx

How's the Belgian beer?