The Traveling Sidekick

User: TheTravelingSidekick
Dates: 31 Oct 2015 - 3 Feb 2017
Duration: 1 year, 3 months
URL: http://thetravelingsidekick.com/

Touring the U.S in a tiny home on wheels. May 23, 2016 to who knows.

Friday 3 Feb 2017 12:27

Markets are the best thing about Asia and Chiang Mai is no exception.

Posted: Feb. 3, 2017, 11:27 a.m.

Tuesday 31 Jan 2017 1:03

Not a shabby seen from Haad Yao beach.

Posted: Jan. 30, 2017, 6:03 p.m.

Sunday 29 Jan 2017 15:58

We found our perfect white sand beach in Koh phanang.

Posted: Jan. 29, 2017, 8:58 a.m.

Friday 27 Jan 2017 9:49

After a week of clouds we finally found sunshine in Thailand!!

Posted: Jan. 27, 2017, 2:49 a.m.

Saturday 21 Jan 2017 13:42

After 54 hours of travel we made it to Koh Samui. Whew.

Posted: Jan. 21, 2017, 6:42 a.m.

Thursday 12 Jan 2017 22:23

Family time before our next adventure!

Posted: Jan. 13, 2017, 4:23 a.m.

Wednesday 4 Jan 2017 16:35

A final farewell to the Tin Can. :(

Posted: Jan. 4, 2017, 10:35 p.m.

Saturday 31 Dec 2016 16:01

Happy new year Colorado!

Posted: Dec. 31, 2016, 11:01 p.m.

Tuesday 27 Dec 2016 11:25

We just can't stay away from colorful Colorado.

Posted: Dec. 27, 2016, 6:25 p.m.

Thursday 15 Dec 2016 11:53

James gets bonus points for this pit stop at Magnolia Market today!

Posted: Dec. 15, 2016, 5:53 p.m.

Wednesday 14 Dec 2016 20:58

Adult skate night every Wednesday and BYOB at Austin Roller Rink. Way too much fun!

Posted: Dec. 15, 2016, 2:58 a.m.

Wednesday 14 Dec 2016 18:14

So fun to watch them make Thai style ice cream at Holla Mode. The banana, Nutella and coconut was amazing!

Posted: Dec. 15, 2016, 12:14 a.m.

Wednesday 14 Dec 2016 13:45

Tasty BBQ stop today at the Michlethwait food truck.

Posted: Dec. 14, 2016, 7:45 p.m.

Tuesday 13 Dec 2016 23:10

Round 2 of music in Austin at The Continental Club.

Posted: Dec. 14, 2016, 5:10 a.m.

Tuesday 13 Dec 2016 20:18

Great show by Matt the Electrician tonight at the Saxon Pub.

Posted: Dec. 14, 2016, 2:18 a.m.

Tuesday 13 Dec 2016 14:58

Austin is weird but we like it.

Posted: Dec. 13, 2016, 8:58 p.m.

Monday 12 Dec 2016 19:28

We had a little too much fun at The Container Bar.

Posted: Dec. 13, 2016, 1:28 a.m.

Sunday 11 Dec 2016 12:02

A moody morning at the Texas state capitol.

Posted: Dec. 11, 2016, 6:02 p.m.

Sunday 11 Dec 2016 11:00

We found a journalism section for Whit at BookPeople, an independent bookstore downtown.

Posted: Dec. 11, 2016, 5 p.m.

Saturday 10 Dec 2016 12:10

Best. Store. Ever. And Whit's dream tiny home at Old World Antieks.

Posted: Dec. 10, 2016, 6:10 p.m.

Friday 9 Dec 2016 11:07

The Galleria in Houston is all dressed up for the holidays.

Posted: Dec. 9, 2016, 5:07 p.m.

Thursday 8 Dec 2016 14:41

The Meca of ugly Christmas sweaters at Retropolis!!!

Posted: Dec. 8, 2016, 8:41 p.m.

Wednesday 7 Dec 2016 22:19

Hanging with Noah and Lindsey!

Posted: Dec. 8, 2016, 4:19 a.m.

Tuesday 6 Dec 2016 12:21

Amazing Mexican food at the Enchanted Inn, a dive-y local joint.

Posted: Dec. 6, 2016, 6:21 p.m.

Tuesday 6 Dec 2016 9:18

A morning hike up Enchanted Rock.

Posted: Dec. 6, 2016, 3:18 p.m.

Monday 5 Dec 2016 13:11

The rustic setting at Sister Creek Winery has been my favorite tasting room so far.

Posted: Dec. 5, 2016, 7:11 p.m.

Saturday 3 Dec 2016 17:10

Wine + Christmas = good times at Torre di Pietra.

Posted: Dec. 3, 2016, 11:10 p.m.

Friday 2 Dec 2016 16:01

We found cab franc at Messina winery

Posted: Dec. 2, 2016, 10:01 p.m.

Friday 2 Dec 2016 13:22

"I don't need my name in the marquis lights I got my song and I got you with me tonight Maybe it's time we got back to the basics of love." - Luckenbach

Posted: Dec. 2, 2016, 7:22 p.m.

Thursday 1 Dec 2016 15:08

Our first tasting of the week at Grape Creek.

Posted: Dec. 1, 2016, 9:08 p.m.

Wednesday 30 Nov 2016 20:04

Brews from a cooper still? That's a first for us at Fredericksburg Brewing Co.

Posted: Dec. 1, 2016, 2:04 a.m.

Tuesday 29 Nov 2016 15:31

Adding Texas to the list. Hill country here we come.

Posted: Nov. 29, 2016, 9:31 p.m.

Tuesday 29 Nov 2016 13:59

Fantastic views this afternoon at Turner Falls.

Posted: Nov. 29, 2016, 7:59 p.m.

Sunday 20 Nov 2016 13:30

Welcome to Kansas.

Posted: Nov. 20, 2016, 8:30 p.m.

Friday 18 Nov 2016 20:21

Christmas lights are going up in one of our favorite towns.

Posted: Nov. 19, 2016, 3:21 a.m.

Friday 18 Nov 2016 10:48

We survived our first snow in the camper.

Posted: Nov. 18, 2016, 5:48 p.m.

Monday 7 Nov 2016 14:33

Trail run in golden

Posted: Nov. 7, 2016, 9:33 p.m.

Sunday 6 Nov 2016 14:56

Enjoying a beautiful day and a delish beer in Golden.

Posted: Nov. 6, 2016, 9:56 p.m.

Friday 4 Nov 2016 17:24

Cookout in Greeley

Posted: Nov. 4, 2016, 11:24 p.m.

Wednesday 2 Nov 2016 12:36

A little afternoon golf.

Posted: Nov. 2, 2016, 6:36 p.m.

Tuesday 1 Nov 2016 15:33

Just chillaxin' by the Arkansas River in BV

Posted: Nov. 1, 2016, 9:33 p.m.

Friday 28 Oct 2016 12:58

Taking our new home out for a spin at an amazing free campground at Salida East in Salida.

Posted: Oct. 28, 2016, 6:58 p.m.

Wednesday 26 Oct 2016 8:03

We traded in our vintage trailer for this beauty, the Bullet.

Posted: Oct. 26, 2016, 1:03 p.m.

Sunday 9 Oct 2016 15:18

The West Thumb Geyser Basin was amazing. Yellowstone is such a show off.

Posted: Oct. 9, 2016, 9:18 p.m.

Saturday 8 Oct 2016 19:53

Sunset at the Upper Geyser Basin.

Posted: Oct. 9, 2016, 12:53 a.m.

Saturday 8 Oct 2016 11:22

Mammouth Hot Springs is one crazy place!

Posted: Oct. 8, 2016, 5:22 p.m.

Thursday 6 Oct 2016 11:41

Yellowstone is so weird. Paint Pots Geyser Basin.

Posted: Oct. 6, 2016, 5:41 p.m.

Friday 30 Sep 2016 11:24

Road blocks mean something entirely different in Yellowstone.

Posted: Sept. 30, 2016, 5:24 p.m.

Thursday 29 Sep 2016 11:01

Another peak summitted.

Posted: Sept. 29, 2016, 5:01 p.m.

Tuesday 27 Sep 2016 17:01

11 miles and not another sole.

Posted: Sept. 27, 2016, 11:01 p.m.

Friday 23 Sep 2016 11:32

Falling in love with the Tetons.

Posted: Sept. 23, 2016, 5:32 p.m.

Thursday 22 Sep 2016 7:42

South Yellowstone is spectacular.

Posted: Sept. 22, 2016, 1:42 p.m.

Wednesday 21 Sep 2016 15:57

Riddle Lake hike in South Yellowstone.

Posted: Sept. 21, 2016, 10:57 p.m.

Monday 19 Sep 2016 14:57

Our home in South Yellowstone, Lewis Lake.

Posted: Sept. 19, 2016, 8:57 p.m.

Saturday 17 Sep 2016 8:20

Beartooth Pass is a killer drive. Add it to your list.

Posted: Sept. 17, 2016, 2:20 p.m.

Friday 16 Sep 2016 18:16

Walked a mile from downtown to the only brewery in Red Lodge.

Posted: Sept. 17, 2016, 12:16 a.m.

Thursday 15 Sep 2016 19:51

Camper problems solved with beer from White Dog Brewery. Mmmmmm.

Posted: Sept. 16, 2016, 1:51 a.m.

Thursday 15 Sep 2016 11:29

Our first geyser sighting at Old Faithful.

Posted: Sept. 15, 2016, 5:29 p.m.

Thursday 15 Sep 2016 9:15

Kepler cascade is definitely worth a quick stop.

Posted: Sept. 15, 2016, 3:15 p.m.

Friday 9 Sep 2016 1:29

A beautiful evening exploring Edinburgh.

Posted: Sept. 9, 2016, 12:29 a.m.

Thursday 8 Sep 2016 16:48

A Scotch celebration of our feat! Cheers.

Posted: Sept. 8, 2016, 3:48 p.m.

Tuesday 6 Sep 2016 13:07

Day 4 on the West Highland Way: It was a marathon 16 miles but worth every second!

Posted: Sept. 6, 2016, 12:07 p.m.

Monday 5 Sep 2016 11:16

Day 3 on the West Highland Way: we topped a mountain.

Posted: Sept. 5, 2016, 10:16 a.m.

Sunday 4 Sep 2016 13:33

Day 2 on the West Highland Way: we covered 12 miles and some amazing scenery.

Posted: Sept. 4, 2016, 1:33 p.m.

Saturday 3 Sep 2016 12:02

We survived 7 miles on day 1 and made it to the Bridge of Orchy for a special birthday celebration.

Posted: Sept. 3, 2016, 11:02 a.m.

Saturday 3 Sep 2016 8:57

Setting off on a 4-day hike on the West Highland Way.

Posted: Sept. 3, 2016, 7:57 a.m.

Thursday 1 Sep 2016 15:14

Amsterdam did not disappoint.

Posted: Sept. 1, 2016, 1:14 p.m.

Tuesday 30 Aug 2016 18:51

De Garre bar was possible the greatest travel experience of our lives. Plus, that triple!

Posted: Aug. 30, 2016, 4:51 p.m.

Tuesday 30 Aug 2016 14:52

Our new favorite European city, Bruges.

Posted: Aug. 30, 2016, 12:52 p.m.

Monday 29 Aug 2016 12:06

Cheers to the oldest city in Germany.

Posted: Aug. 29, 2016, 10:06 a.m.

Sunday 28 Aug 2016 15:12

German fare at the world's oldest fair.

Posted: Aug. 28, 2016, 1:12 p.m.

Sunday 28 Aug 2016 12:34

A tour of Luxembourg with Mrs. Jordan.

Posted: Aug. 28, 2016, 10:34 a.m.

Saturday 27 Aug 2016 15:51

Belgian brews at Delirium Brewery.

Posted: Aug. 27, 2016, 1:51 p.m.

Friday 26 Aug 2016 13:24

Hopping a train from Paris to Luxembourg.

Posted: Aug. 26, 2016, 11:24 a.m.

Friday 26 Aug 2016 11:35

Whitney's favorite place on earth. Her third trip to Shakespeare & Co and definitely not the last.

Posted: Aug. 26, 2016, 9:35 a.m.

Friday 26 Aug 2016 8:31

James' favorite spot in all of Paris was Notre Dame.

Posted: Aug. 26, 2016, 6:31 a.m.

Thursday 25 Aug 2016 19:00

A picnic with a view.

Posted: Aug. 25, 2016, 5 p.m.

Thursday 25 Aug 2016 17:11

Perfect pastries and hot chocolate at Angelina's.

Posted: Aug. 25, 2016, 3:11 p.m.

Thursday 25 Aug 2016 13:34

Just another room in the Louvre.

Posted: Aug. 25, 2016, 11:34 a.m.

Wednesday 24 Aug 2016 18:25

Scare Coeur never fails to impress.

Posted: Aug. 24, 2016, 4:25 p.m.

Saturday 20 Aug 2016 17:03

Afternoon hike in Conifer. So glad to be back in Colorado!

Posted: Aug. 20, 2016, 11:03 p.m.

Wednesday 17 Aug 2016 15:09

Back in colorful Colorado for a few days!

Posted: Aug. 17, 2016, 9:09 p.m.

Wednesday 17 Aug 2016 11:25

Perfecting my auntie skills.

Posted: Aug. 17, 2016, 4:25 p.m.

Tuesday 9 Aug 2016 10:44

Gettin' our kicks on Route 66. Missouri welcome center.

Posted: Aug. 9, 2016, 3:44 p.m.

Monday 8 Aug 2016 17:31

Illinois needs to step up its welcome center signs. Check it off the list.

Posted: Aug. 8, 2016, 10:31 p.m.

Monday 8 Aug 2016 15:05

Add Indiana to the list.

Posted: Aug. 8, 2016, 8:05 p.m.

Monday 8 Aug 2016 12:29

Welcome to Ohio.

Posted: Aug. 8, 2016, 4:29 p.m.

Sunday 7 Aug 2016 12:08

Caught a cadet formation at the Naval Academy plus some beautiful historic buildings.

Posted: Aug. 7, 2016, 4:08 p.m.

Saturday 6 Aug 2016 15:08

Harper's Ferry is a truly unique National Park.

Posted: Aug. 6, 2016, 7:08 p.m.

Friday 5 Aug 2016 12:54

Back to the Library of Congress with our library cards to go into the main reading room. Standing in that room is indescribable.

Posted: Aug. 5, 2016, 4:54 p.m.

Thursday 4 Aug 2016 19:04

Lincoln's top hat, the Star Spangled Banner and Roosevelt's fireside chats microphone were just a few of the gems at the American History Museum.

Posted: Aug. 4, 2016, 11:04 p.m.

Thursday 4 Aug 2016 14:02

No photos allowed in the archives but how can we not mention the Declaration of Independence, Constitution and Bill of Rights?! It was an honor just being in the same room.

Posted: Aug. 4, 2016, 6:02 p.m.

Thursday 4 Aug 2016 13:47

The Supreme Court. Goosebumps.

Posted: Aug. 4, 2016, 5:47 p.m.

Thursday 4 Aug 2016 12:58

We spent an entire day at the Library of Congress and saw the Guttenburg bible and the first recorded use of America from a 1507 map! Win!

Posted: Aug. 4, 2016, 4:58 p.m.

Wednesday 3 Aug 2016 9:32

The Korean War Memorial was surprisingly cool.

Posted: Aug. 3, 2016, 1:32 p.m.

Wednesday 3 Aug 2016 9:05

Who doesn't love Lincoln?

Posted: Aug. 3, 2016, 1:05 p.m.

Wednesday 3 Aug 2016 8:10

An early morning tour of the National Mall made for fewer tourists, great lighting and cooler temps. Worth it!

Posted: Aug. 3, 2016, 12:10 p.m.

Tuesday 2 Aug 2016 14:31

The changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier is a must-do in Arlington Cemetery.

Posted: Aug. 2, 2016, 6:31 p.m.

Sunday 31 Jul 2016 9:45

Pandas for his birthday at the Memphis Zoo.

Posted: July 31, 2016, 2:45 p.m.

Sunday 24 Jul 2016 13:27

Pool party in Edmond with family.

Posted: July 24, 2016, 6:27 p.m.

Saturday 23 Jul 2016 12:22

Wacko Waco trip! Girls trip to Magnolia!

Posted: July 23, 2016, 5:22 p.m.

Monday 18 Jul 2016 15:17

Whit escapes to OU for the day. BOOMER SOONER!

Posted: July 18, 2016, 8:17 p.m.

Sunday 10 Jul 2016 11:36

Birthday celebration with mom at the OKC Flea.

Posted: July 10, 2016, 4:36 p.m.

Thursday 7 Jul 2016 17:02

Ian's first climbing excursion! He's a natural.

Posted: July 7, 2016, 10:02 p.m.

Sunday 3 Jul 2016 17:57

Quick trip to McKinney, TX to swim and eat pie with family.

Posted: July 3, 2016, 10:57 p.m.

Friday 1 Jul 2016 9:03

The worst reason to detour brings us back to Oklahoma for a few weeks. We love and miss you Vent.

Posted: July 1, 2016, 2:03 p.m.

Sunday 26 Jun 2016 11:42

Beautiful waterfall stop in Pisgah National Forest on our way back to South Carolina.

Posted: June 26, 2016, 3:42 p.m.

Saturday 25 Jun 2016 18:03

Attended the Avery County Wine and Beer Fest at the gorgeous Linville Falls Winery.

Posted: June 25, 2016, 10:03 p.m.

Saturday 25 Jun 2016 11:35

Several short, easy hiking trails around Linville Falls made for some great scenery!

Posted: June 25, 2016, 3:35 p.m.

Friday 24 Jun 2016 18:36

Appalachian Mountain Brewing in Boone was our favorite area brewery. Great beer, delish food truck and fun atmosphere.

Posted: June 24, 2016, 10:36 p.m.

Friday 24 Jun 2016 12:11

Hiking on Blue Ridge Parkway. Incredible views!

Posted: June 24, 2016, 4:11 p.m.

Thursday 23 Jun 2016 18:13

Brewery tour of Asheville, NC's South Slope included Green Man, Burial, Funkatorium and Asheville Brewing.

Posted: June 23, 2016, 10:13 p.m.

Sunday 19 Jun 2016 11:08

Found the James building in downtown Charleston.

Posted: June 19, 2016, 3:08 p.m.

Saturday 18 Jun 2016 18:08

The famous doors of Taco Boy in Folly Beach. A little bohemian town on the water.

Posted: June 18, 2016, 10:08 p.m.

Saturday 18 Jun 2016 13:36

You would think one could not take 4.5 hours of photos from the same spot, but I assure you Whitney would disagree.

Posted: June 18, 2016, 5:36 p.m.

Friday 17 Jun 2016 11:37

Apparently, $40 per person gets you a private island for the day with 7 miles of untouched beach at Bull Island. Sold! Boneyard beach was incredible.

Posted: June 17, 2016, 3:37 p.m.

Thursday 16 Jun 2016 14:35

Second stop on Whit's bday photography tour of SC, Brookgreen Gardens.

Posted: June 16, 2016, 6:35 p.m.

Thursday 16 Jun 2016 9:03

Beautiful morning for some photography at Huntington Beach. What a way to kick off Whit's birthday weekend!

Posted: June 16, 2016, 1:03 p.m.

Tuesday 14 Jun 2016 9:23

Mowing at our first work site as volunteers for the USFWS.

Posted: June 14, 2016, 1:23 p.m.

Sunday 12 Jun 2016 19:22

First casts of the summer.

Posted: June 12, 2016, 11:22 p.m.

Friday 10 Jun 2016 18:24

Belated birthday dinner in our new favorite town, Georgetown.

Posted: June 10, 2016, 10:24 p.m.

Thursday 9 Jun 2016 20:09

WE MADE IT TO THE BEACH!!!! Also, happy dirty thirty to me. What a way to celebrate.

Posted: June 10, 2016, 12:09 a.m.

Wednesday 8 Jun 2016 19:43

Two days at our first campsite and we still haven't made it to the beach. But that view ain't bad at all.

Posted: June 8, 2016, 11:43 p.m.

Tuesday 7 Jun 2016 17:43

Settin' up the campsite at Cox Ferry Lake. Day one, two leaks. :/

Posted: June 7, 2016, 9:43 p.m.

Monday 6 Jun 2016 20:45

We made it! Welcome to South Carolina.

Posted: June 7, 2016, 12:45 a.m.

Monday 6 Jun 2016 16:55

After one looooong weekend waiting for news on the Silver Streak, we are back on the road. We have never been so happy to cross a state line! Welcome to North Carolina!

Posted: June 6, 2016, 8:55 p.m.

Saturday 4 Jun 2016 15:24

Slight snafu with a fiery wheel bearing in Virginia.

Posted: June 4, 2016, 7:24 p.m.

Friday 3 Jun 2016 19:14

Found books I contributed to on the shelves at Old Dominion Bookstore.

Posted: June 3, 2016, 11:14 p.m.

Friday 3 Jun 2016 15:05

Delicious Stout from Starr Hill Brewery.

Posted: June 3, 2016, 7:05 p.m.

Thursday 2 Jun 2016 18:39

Not a state I loved! Welcome to Virginia.

Posted: June 2, 2016, 10:39 p.m.

Wednesday 1 Jun 2016 12:18

Day 2 of the three hour Gettysburg tour was my favorite. So much to see.

Posted: June 1, 2016, 4:18 p.m.

Tuesday 31 May 2016 15:16

The three hour Gettysburg tour ended up taking us two days. Not even close.

Posted: May 31, 2016, 7:16 p.m.

Monday 30 May 2016 17:57

We do what we want Pennsylvania!

Posted: May 30, 2016, 9:57 p.m.

Monday 30 May 2016 15:32

Checkin' 'em off the list. Welcome to Maryland.

Posted: May 30, 2016, 7:32 p.m.

Sunday 29 May 2016 17:00

Welcome to West Virginia!

Posted: May 29, 2016, 9 p.m.

Sunday 29 May 2016 14:56

The coolest distillery I've ever been to! Bulleit killed it.

Posted: May 29, 2016, 6:56 p.m.

Sunday 29 May 2016 12:36

Winner winner chicken dinner! James' horse wins the first race!

Posted: May 29, 2016, 4:36 p.m.

Saturday 28 May 2016 20:04

Met a lovely couple from St. Louis over bourbon at Down One.

Posted: May 29, 2016, 12:04 a.m.

Saturday 28 May 2016 18:44

Louisville Slugger.

Posted: May 28, 2016, 10:44 p.m.

Friday 27 May 2016 18:53

Another day another state.

Posted: May 27, 2016, 11:53 p.m.

Thursday 26 May 2016 20:56

Fantastic blue grass at The Station Inn, Nashville.

Posted: May 27, 2016, 1:56 a.m.

Thursday 26 May 2016 15:51

I'm going to cover our entire camper in posters from Hatch Show Prints. 💕

Posted: May 26, 2016, 8:51 p.m.

Thursday 26 May 2016 9:38

Our first night in a campground with hookups at Montgomery Bell State Park.

Posted: May 26, 2016, 2:38 p.m.

Wednesday 25 May 2016 12:44

Happy National Wine Day from Century Farms Winery!

Posted: May 25, 2016, 5:44 p.m.

Tuesday 24 May 2016 10:11

Day 2, state 3. Welcome to the birthplace of rock & roll.

Posted: May 24, 2016, 3:11 p.m.

Monday 23 May 2016 16:32

Crossing our first state line.

Posted: May 23, 2016, 9:32 p.m.

Monday 23 May 2016 13:00

The launch site.

Posted: May 23, 2016, 6 p.m.

Thursday 31 Dec 2015 3:14

Snowshoeing on NYE!

Posted: Dec. 31, 2015, 10:14 a.m.

Saturday 31 Oct 2015 12:32

Working in the Bullet in Buena Vista

Posted: Oct. 31, 2015, 6:32 p.m.

The Traveling Sidekick

User: TheTravelingSidekick
Dates: 31 Oct 2015 - 3 Feb 2017
Duration: 1 year, 3 months
URL: http://thetravelingsidekick.com/

Touring the U.S in a tiny home on wheels. May 23, 2016 to who knows.

Commenting is closed