Humpooper Epic Adventure

User:
humpooper
Dates:
5 Nov 2013 - 3 Feb 2014
Duration:
2 months, 4 weeks

Monday 3 Feb 2014 11:43

Waiheke Island

Posted: Feb. 2, 2014, 9:43 p.m.

Sunday 2 Feb 2014 11:42

Devonport

Posted: Feb. 1, 2014, 9:42 p.m.

Friday 31 Jan 2014 10:26

Auckland

Posted: Jan. 30, 2014, 8:26 p.m.

Wednesday 29 Jan 2014 13:07

Last stop Santiago! What a lovely city with a great vibe!

Posted: Jan. 29, 2014, 3:07 p.m.

Tuesday 28 Jan 2014 22:05

Not quite what I had imagined when I read about Valparaiso

Posted: Jan. 29, 2014, 12:05 a.m.

Wednesday 22 Jan 2014 17:16

La Serena, beach side colonial town with lots of charm.

Posted: Jan. 22, 2014, 8:16 p.m.

Monday 20 Jan 2014 15:51

The driest desert on earth, the San Pedro de Atacama. Also one of the best places to star gaze!

Posted: Jan. 20, 2014, 6:51 p.m.

Thursday 16 Jan 2014 19:33

Sea side fun in a desert. Also our firsts stop in Chile, Arica was a very chilled place to be!

Posted: Jan. 16, 2014, 11:33 p.m.

Wednesday 15 Jan 2014 18:29

Last stop in Peru! Tacna, brief experience as we were whizzed out by a crazy Chilean driver!

Posted: Jan. 15, 2014, 10:29 p.m.

Sunday 12 Jan 2014 8:47

Chivay, base point for our canyon trek

Posted: Jan. 12, 2014, 1:47 p.m.

Friday 10 Jan 2014 17:44

Arequipa! Our last stop in Peru

Posted: Jan. 10, 2014, 10:44 p.m.

Thursday 9 Jan 2014 12:44

The trauma of seeing the Nasca lines... I spent it throwing up on a tiny plane...

Posted: Jan. 9, 2014, 5:44 p.m.

Tuesday 7 Jan 2014 17:29

Huacachina - Our little Oasis in Ica

Posted: Jan. 7, 2014, 10:29 p.m.

Sunday 5 Jan 2014 17:36

Pisco, a town devastated by an earth quake in 2007 and now building itself back up.

Posted: Jan. 5, 2014, 10:36 p.m.

Sunday 5 Jan 2014 12:37

Paracas reserve from the mainland desert to the Ilsa Ballestas filled with sea lions and birds.

Posted: Jan. 5, 2014, 5:37 p.m.

Friday 3 Jan 2014 19:22

Lima, the capital of Peru. Set above the sea, this is the first time we have seen sky scrapers in awhile! To read the blog entry, follow this link:
http://www.travelpod.com/z/...

Posted: Jan. 4, 2014, 12:22 a.m.

Tuesday 31 Dec 2013 8:29

Made it to Machu Picchu! What a trek!

Posted: Dec. 31, 2013, 1:29 p.m.

Sunday 29 Dec 2013 19:31

On the Inca Trail, 'Dead Woman's Pass', almost claimed another victim!

Posted: Dec. 30, 2013, 12:31 a.m.

Friday 27 Dec 2013 15:12

Inka Ruins in Ollantaytambo, where the sun temple and 'angry face' man live.

Posted: Dec. 27, 2013, 8:12 p.m.

Wednesday 25 Dec 2013 14:31

Christmas Day! It's Guinea Pig Feast time!

Posted: Dec. 25, 2013, 7:31 p.m.

Sunday 22 Dec 2013 13:31

We have made it to Cusco, what a beautiful city! This ranks as one of the prettiest I have ever been to!

Posted: Dec. 22, 2013, 6:31 p.m.

Saturday 21 Dec 2013 16:18

Amazon Jungle via Peurto Maldonado, it rained ALOT and was very humid. But we got to play with monkies!

Posted: Dec. 21, 2013, 9:18 p.m.

Tuesday 17 Dec 2013 16:20

Lake Sandoval, wow! Part of our jungle experience!

Posted: Dec. 17, 2013, 9:20 p.m.

Saturday 14 Dec 2013 20:19

Stop off for our Peurto bus... Major delays thanks to landslides on route for the bus :(

Posted: Dec. 15, 2013, 1:19 a.m.

Friday 13 Dec 2013 16:06

Puno, Peru - we have made it across the border! Touring the floating reed islands and some ethnic tribes along the Peruvian side of lake Titicaca.

Posted: Dec. 13, 2013, 9:06 p.m.

Saturday 7 Dec 2013 12:43

Arrived on Lake Titicaca, the largest high altitude lake in the world at well over 3500m. Stayed on Isla Del, the Sun Island, without any sun and in Copacabana.

Posted: Dec. 7, 2013, 4:43 p.m.

Thursday 5 Dec 2013 21:28

La Paz, the highest city in the world and Bolivia's capital. A buzzing city with lots of charm. We took on the death road and won!

Posted: Dec. 6, 2013, 1:28 a.m.

Monday 2 Dec 2013 17:29

Salar De Uyuni - Salt Flat Tour! Taking in the salt flats, Fish Island, Gysers, hot springs and some awesome lagoons! Not to forget the lamas, wild lamas and flamingos!

Posted: Dec. 2, 2013, 9:29 p.m.

Sunday 1 Dec 2013 18:25

Uyuni, historically the town which transported silver and various other minerals. Now it's a tourist hub for Salt Flat tours.

Posted: Dec. 1, 2013, 10:25 p.m.

Saturday 30 Nov 2013 16:17

Potosi, 4090m above sea level, gasping for breath already! To read the blog entry For Potosi, go to this link.
http://www.travelpod.com/z/...

Posted: Nov. 30, 2013, 8:17 p.m.

Thursday 28 Nov 2013 17:32

La Escondida Hostal, such a beautiful place to stay!

Posted: Nov. 28, 2013, 9:32 p.m.

Thursday 28 Nov 2013 10:14

Sucre, the original Bolivian Capital. Glistening white buildings with thriving markets and sunshine happy people. Such a beautiful place!

Posted: Nov. 28, 2013, 2:14 p.m.

Tuesday 26 Nov 2013 19:00

Samaipata, a mountain village 3 hours away from Santa Cruz. The village use to have cobbled streets which are in the process of being ripped up. The plaza and charming eateries would keep you coming back

Posted: Nov. 26, 2013, 11 p.m.

Tuesday 26 Nov 2013 9:55

Santa Cruz, in the lowlands of Bolivia with a diverse mix of traditional dressed Bolivians and Mennonites. Very laid back atmosphere and a rather bizarre ring road system!

Posted: Nov. 26, 2013, 1:55 p.m.

Monday 25 Nov 2013 15:55

Quijarro, the Bolivia border town, where we whiled away many hours until our train. The animal head was one of many where we ate lunch! Yum...

Posted: Nov. 25, 2013, 7:55 p.m.

Sunday 24 Nov 2013 23:23

Our last stop in Brazil! Time to practise the Portuguese and the Salsa!

Posted: Nov. 25, 2013, 2:23 a.m.

Friday 22 Nov 2013 21:52

The Pantanals! Brazils wetlands, filled with every type of creature you could hope for. We had the pleasure of staying at Santa Clara which organised 5 touring activities during our 3 night stay from hikes, horse riding, boating to piranha fishing.

Posted: Nov. 23, 2013, 12:52 a.m.

Thursday 21 Nov 2013 23:21

Santa Clara, our Pantanal lodge which fulfilled all our needs

Posted: Nov. 22, 2013, 2:21 a.m.

Wednesday 20 Nov 2013 7:11

A stop off in Campo Grande before we head to the Pantanals. Incredibly friendly city!

Posted: Nov. 20, 2013, 10:11 a.m.

Tuesday 19 Nov 2013 9:37

Itaipu Dam, a joint venture with Paraguay and Brazil to power their countries. It is the 2nd largest power station in the world and powers all of Paraguay with them selling back 90% of their share to Brazil.

Posted: Nov. 19, 2013, 12:37 p.m.

Monday 18 Nov 2013 7:37

Iguaco falls from the Argentina side which looks over the falls. We managed to go to the viewing platform which is at the top of the largest falls.

Posted: Nov. 18, 2013, 10:37 a.m.

Sunday 17 Nov 2013 15:12

Iguaco falls from the Brazil side, one of the most awe inspiring sights I have ever seen!

Posted: Nov. 17, 2013, 5:12 p.m.

Friday 15 Nov 2013 10:19

São Paulo, buzzing hub of a city. Very cosmopolitan with coffee shops and bars lining the street. Villa Magdalena was a beautiful suburb reminding me of Richmond or Subiaco.

Posted: Nov. 15, 2013, 12:19 p.m.

Thursday 14 Nov 2013 10:15

Paraty a lovely place which has an old cobbled town where you can walk through the alleys to shop and eat.

Posted: Nov. 14, 2013, 12:15 p.m.

Wednesday 13 Nov 2013 10:14

Angra Dos Reis, the Drop off point for the ferry. Appears to be a lot more industrial and built up than the other ferry point Mangaratiba.

Posted: Nov. 13, 2013, 12:14 p.m.

Tuesday 12 Nov 2013 9:16

Ilha Grande, where all your wishes come true. Hiking, swimming, food, drinks and monkeys!

Posted: Nov. 12, 2013, 11:16 a.m.

Friday 8 Nov 2013 16:14

Mangaratiba, on route to Ilha Grande. Very sweet village set on the shore amongst the mountains.

Posted: Nov. 8, 2013, 6:14 p.m.

Thursday 7 Nov 2013 14:40

Copacabana Beach at last in the sun!

Posted: Nov. 7, 2013, 4:40 p.m.

Thursday 7 Nov 2013 9:46

Christ the Redeemer

Posted: Nov. 7, 2013, 11:46 a.m.

Thursday 7 Nov 2013 7:40

Pictures from our tour of the Favela da Rocinha

Posted: Nov. 7, 2013, 9:40 a.m.

Wednesday 6 Nov 2013 14:40

Adventures around Rio

Posted: Nov. 6, 2013, 4:40 p.m.

Tuesday 5 Nov 2013 9:58

Posted: Nov. 5, 2013, 9:58 a.m.

World adventure from November 2013 through to July 2014

Commenting is closed