The Alabamboo Make and Ride

User: think5577
Dates: 24 May 2011 - 30 Jul 2011
Duration: 2 months, 1 week
URL: http://ridealabamboo.com/

This summer, a team of young cyclists will depart from Greensboro, AL and journey across the US on Common Cycles built with Alabama bamboo.

ridealabamboo.com

Saturday 30 Jul 2011 12:12

Without the help and support from our family, friends, and the countless people we've met along the way, Team Alabamboo couldn't have embarked on this amazing journey.

Posted: July 30, 2011, 7:12 p.m.

Friday 29 Jul 2011 17:05

Our last night together as Team Alabamboo.

Posted: July 30, 2011, 12:05 a.m.

Thursday 28 Jul 2011 19:01

Beautiful ride into Sonoma, but horrible traffic.

Posted: July 29, 2011, 2:01 a.m.

Wednesday 27 Jul 2011 20:00

Went to the Davis Bike Collective for an outdoor film screening. Had the chance to ride their new mobile bike shop rig.

Posted: July 28, 2011, 3 a.m.

Tuesday 26 Jul 2011 22:11

Visiting Marc's Aunt and cousins in Placerville, CA. ¡Mi Familia!

Posted: July 27, 2011, 5:11 a.m.

Monday 25 Jul 2011 18:09

Carson's Pass, CA

Posted: July 26, 2011, 1:09 a.m.

Monday 25 Jul 2011 13:07

We couldn’t think of any words to describe this photo. Maybe words can’t describe what we’re feeling right now. See you soon, SF!

Posted: July 25, 2011, 8:07 p.m.

Saturday 23 Jul 2011 21:41

After our 118 mile day to Fallon, we pushed on to Carson City, NV for a rear day. Tomorrow, we gear up for our final week of the ride and head out early Monday.

Posted: July 24, 2011, 4:41 a.m.

Friday 22 Jul 2011 22:59

Our biggest day of the tour! With a grand total of 118 miles, we made it to Fallon, NV. Tomorrow, we ride to Carson City, NV for a much needed rest day.

Posted: July 23, 2011, 5:59 a.m.

Thursday 21 Jul 2011 22:53

Camped at Bob Scott Summit.

Posted: July 22, 2011, 5:53 a.m.

Thursday 21 Jul 2011 14:59

Somewhere in the middle of no where.

Posted: July 21, 2011, 9:59 p.m.

Wednesday 20 Jul 2011 21:15

Camping at the best city park, ever!

Posted: July 21, 2011, 4:15 a.m.

Tuesday 19 Jul 2011 19:36

Gambling at Ely, NV

Posted: July 20, 2011, 2:36 a.m.

Monday 18 Jul 2011 19:39

Got lucky with a beautiful campsite at Great Basin National Park.

Posted: July 19, 2011, 2:39 a.m.

Sunday 17 Jul 2011 20:28

Camping at 6,460 feet up on Frisco Summit.

Posted: July 18, 2011, 2:28 a.m.

Saturday 16 Jul 2011 21:21

After a week of riding through some amazing landscapes in Utah, we rest in Cedar City before our trek into Nevada.

Posted: July 17, 2011, 3:21 a.m.

Thursday 14 Jul 2011 22:16

Posted: July 15, 2011, 4:16 a.m.

Thursday 14 Jul 2011 16:14

Posted: July 14, 2011, 10:14 p.m.

Wednesday 13 Jul 2011 18:22

Last night's campsite. Escalante Petrified Forest State Park.

Posted: July 14, 2011, 12:22 a.m.

Wednesday 13 Jul 2011 18:14

YES! Hogback trail!

Posted: July 14, 2011, 12:14 a.m.

Wednesday 13 Jul 2011 6:03

Great campsite an sun rise at Single Tree in Dixie National Forest. Yay, Utah!

Posted: July 13, 2011, 12:03 p.m.

Tuesday 12 Jul 2011 14:05

Riding through Capital Reef.

Posted: July 12, 2011, 8:05 p.m.

Monday 11 Jul 2011 21:30

Beautiful ride into Hanksville, UT.

Posted: July 12, 2011, 3:30 a.m.

Sunday 10 Jul 2011 22:19

Green River, UT visiting EPICenter!

Posted: July 11, 2011, 4:19 a.m.

Friday 8 Jul 2011 21:22

After an amazing night of camping in Colorado National Monument, we pushed towards Moab, UT today. 104 miles total. Yep, that's a Century.

Posted: July 9, 2011, 3:22 a.m.

Thursday 7 Jul 2011 19:16

Colorado National Monument = Amazing!

Posted: July 8, 2011, 1:16 a.m.

Wednesday 6 Jul 2011 13:00

92 West from Sapinero to Crawford, CO. Blue Mesa Reservoir, Morrow Point Reservoir, Curecanti Needle.

Posted: July 6, 2011, 7 p.m.

Tuesday 5 Jul 2011 19:55

Best campsite yet!

Posted: July 6, 2011, 1:55 a.m.

Tuesday 5 Jul 2011 10:01

Monarch Pass!

Posted: July 5, 2011, 4:01 p.m.

Sunday 3 Jul 2011 22:16

Team Alabamboo reunites.

Posted: July 4, 2011, 4:16 a.m.

Saturday 2 Jul 2011 20:35

After a flip of a coin, Jason and Marc found themselves in Wetmore, CO. They stumbled upon the community center were one of the volunteers greeted us with a fridge full of food, wifi, and a bathroom for the night. Salida, CO tomorrow... hopefully.

Posted: July 3, 2011, 2:35 a.m.

Friday 1 Jul 2011 18:18

After a nice rest day yesterday in Eads, CO, Jason & Marc make their way to Fowler, CO for the night. Breakfast for dinner!

Posted: July 2, 2011, 12:18 a.m.

Wednesday 29 Jun 2011 21:26

Not only did we cross into Mountain Time and even entered Colorado, we also completed our first Century. Today was supposed to be a rest day in Scott City, KS, but Jason and I decided to celebrate today's 100+ degree day with a 100+ mile ride. Smart? Probably not. Epic? We think so.

Posted: June 30, 2011, 3:26 a.m.

Tuesday 28 Jun 2011 21:29

Marc's first flat right outside of Scott City, KS.

Posted: June 29, 2011, 2:29 a.m.

Monday 27 Jun 2011 21:27

Another city park, another camp site.

Posted: June 28, 2011, 2:27 a.m.

Sunday 26 Jun 2011 18:22

As we headed west from Nickerson to Larned, KS, we reached our 1,000 mile mark. We came upon this along the way. Kansas, not that bad of a state.

Posted: June 26, 2011, 11:22 p.m.

Saturday 25 Jun 2011 21:28

Hutchinson, KS = Salt!

Posted: June 26, 2011, 2:28 a.m.

Friday 24 Jun 2011 17:50

Today was a short ride day. We're resting our muscles, legs, and bikes. We head west tomorrow.

Posted: June 24, 2011, 10:50 p.m.

Thursday 23 Jun 2011 19:51

Camping just across the OK/KS border.

Posted: June 24, 2011, 12:51 a.m.

Wednesday 22 Jun 2011 23:03

Today kicked our asses. 76 miles of wind in your face, 9 miles if construction on HWY 51, rolling hills, and hot hot sun. Enough said.

Posted: June 23, 2011, 4:03 a.m.

Sunday 19 Jun 2011 18:10

Made it to Tulsa, OK. Jake Sullivan & family is hosting us while we take a break from the ride. Looking forward to our stay.

Posted: June 19, 2011, 11:10 p.m.

Friday 17 Jun 2011 22:38

Crashing in Fayetteville, AR tonight. Staying with Katie & Matt whom we meet in Little Rock as they talked to Jason about his bamboo bike.

Posted: June 18, 2011, 3:38 a.m.

Thursday 16 Jun 2011 10:38

After an amazing climb up Mt. Magazine yesterday and downhill this morning, we're in Paris, AR fueling up on eggs and biscuits.

Posted: June 16, 2011, 3:38 p.m.

Tuesday 14 Jun 2011 19:32

Staying outside of Perryville, AR near the Heifer Ranch for the night. Swimming hole success! Hills were tough, but doable. 50 miles in 4 hours!

Posted: June 15, 2011, 12:32 a.m.

Monday 13 Jun 2011 22:48

Sleepin' & Dreamin' on the River Walk in Little Rock. Droppin' the Z's and G's!

Posted: June 14, 2011, 3:48 a.m.

Saturday 11 Jun 2011 19:55

Carlisle, AR welcomed us with an amazing thunderstorm as we rolled into town.

Posted: June 12, 2011, 12:55 a.m.

Saturday 11 Jun 2011 14:01

Making our way to Carlisle, AR tonight. Another night of camping before Little Rock, where we'll post an update from our first week on the road.

Posted: June 11, 2011, 7:01 p.m.

Friday 10 Jun 2011 12:01

Downtown Helena, Arkansas was such an amazing small town.

Posted: June 10, 2011, 5:01 p.m.

Wednesday 8 Jun 2011 19:11

The team made it to Oxford, MS. We rode 65+/- today. Starting to feel like we're getting into a groove. Booya!

Posted: June 9, 2011, 12:11 a.m.

Wednesday 8 Jun 2011 15:45

Road in on beautiful county road 136 this morning into Bruce, MS. Lunch, flat tire fix, and HDX refuel. Leaving for Oxford now!

Posted: June 8, 2011, 8:45 p.m.

Monday 6 Jun 2011 23:28

Been in Starkville, MS for 12 hours, and we've received nothing but amazing hospitality from both Ben & family along with Jamie & David + crew.

Posted: June 7, 2011, 4:28 a.m.

Sunday 5 Jun 2011 20:24

We're at the "Best campground in Alabama." We agree!

Posted: June 6, 2011, 1:24 a.m.

Sunday 5 Jun 2011 10:21

Nice AM ride to Aliceville. Lunch time!

Posted: June 5, 2011, 3:21 p.m.

Sunday 5 Jun 2011 6:13

Unexpected overnight stay with Jamie, the Dentist. He was such a great host. Thanks, Jamie. Heading to Aliceville now.

Posted: June 5, 2011, 11:13 a.m.

Tuesday 24 May 2011 11:57

Greensboro, AL. The start of out tour. We'll be here for about a week building, prepping, planning our ride.

Posted: May 24, 2011, 4:57 p.m.

The Alabamboo Make and Ride

User: think5577
Dates: 24 May 2011 - 30 Jul 2011
Duration: 2 months, 1 week
URL: http://ridealabamboo.com/

This summer, a team of young cyclists will depart from Greensboro, AL and journey across the US on Common Cycles built with Alabama bamboo.

ridealabamboo.com

Commenting is closed

Looking forward to following the tour. Keep up the comments, tweets, and blogs! Ride safe!